#1 Wealthy Affiliate Complaint (I'm Biased but You Gotta Read This!)
22

#1 Wealthy Affiliate Complaint (Iā€™m Biased but You Gotta Read This!)

Let me be 100% transparent with you. I'm a member and an affiliate of Wealthy Affiliate.

I've been a Premium member of Wealthy Affiliate University since May 2016. Since then, I have been a pretty active member until today. And I'm sure I'll continue to be an active member for as long as I can.

jerry huang wa profile

My profile at Wealthy Affiliate

The reason being is that WA is by far the best training platform for anyone to achieve success online and make a great passive income for life.

If you're a member of another program or you have been a critic of Wealthy Affiliate, I know exactly what you're thinking.

You're thinking that I am another scammer blatantly promoting WA and trying to "recruit" more members into the system, right?

Well, if you're having that kind of mindset, I would recommend you to take a few minutes and read this post thoroughly.

Because I'm going to tell you the number one Wealthy Affiliate complaint and why it is untrue. I'm also going to reveal to you the latest update in the digital marketing industry.

You gotta read this... I'm speaking with 100% honesty!

More...

The No.1 Wealthy Affiliate Complaint

Wealthy Affiliate is a very awesome platform. That's why there are not many disadvantages and drawbacks people can complain about, except ONE.

The most common complaint against WA is...

Wealthy Affiliate members are scammers because all they do is to call all other programs a scam and lure people into joining WA.

True or true?

I'm sure many critics of WA can relate to this, right?

I know where you are coming from and I can understand exactly why you may feel this way.

WA's Affiliate Bootcamp course is indeed teaching people how to build a website in the "Make Money Online MMO" niche and write reviews so that you can convince people to join WA.

wa affiliate bootcamp

WA Affiliate Bootcamp

But I want you to think about the 4 following points that I'm going to share with you, which I believe they will change your perspective towards Wealthy Affiliate...

1. I Apologize for the Newbie WA Members

Like I've mentioned just now that Affiliate Bootcamp is the course which teaches members how to invite people into WA by creating quality contents on our websites.

This is when people start to write reviews on all sorts of products and programs online and call them scams.

This is true but most of the WA members are completely honest when they're writing their reviews.

apologize

If you look closely, we don't anyhow call other programs scams unless they are really awful.

We acknowledge and appreciate the fact that each product has their own values and benefits. So what we are doing is to weigh their pros and cons against Wealthy Affiliate.

Most of the time, we will come to a conclusion that WA is a better choice because of whatever reason depending on the context.

The phrases we use are:

"XXX product is not recommended because..."

"My Top Recommended platform is..."

We won't call every program a scam unless it really it, for example if it's a very obvious pyramid scheme.

If you ever see any WA member keep calling other products a scam unreasonably, I'm sure he or she is just starting out and doesn't fully understand how this thing works.

I sincerely apologize for these newbies!

If you ever came across somebody doing this, let me know in the comments below or drop me a message through my contact form. I'll reach out to them and teach them the correct way of writing reviews.

2. WA is NOT MLM

Some of you may think that WA is a Multi-Level Marketing (MLM) because what we are doing is to "recruit" members into the system.

Well, that's totally untrue!

If you truly understand how MLM works, you'll know that they have a system which forms something like a spider web or a pyramid where downlines and uplines are all connected.

mlm pyramid

Multi-Level Marketing

In WA, there are no downlines and uplines because we are only earning commissions from our direct referrals. We won't be compensated for new members joining under our referrals. So, it's pure affiliate marketing!

This is just like you can earn a small commission when you refer somebody to drive Uber. That is affiliate marketing. The commission you earned is known as your affiliate commission.

I'm sure you won't call Uber a MLM business just because you get paid to refer new drivers, right? That's the same concept with Wealthy Affiliate.

3. WA is NOT a Pyramid Scheme either

"A pyramid scheme is a business model that recruits members via a promise of payments or services for enrolling others into the scheme, rather than supplying investments or sale of products or services." - Wikipedia

Basically, it means that the system is a pyramid scheme if it's main purpose is to recruit members without providing any real products or services.

However, Wealthy Affiliate has a lot of tools and services offered in their platform.

pyramid scheme

pyramid scheme

Let me just list down some of the things you can get at WA:

  • Website Hosting
  • Website Domains
  • Website Builder
  • Keyword Research Tool
  • 50+ Main Training Lessons to help you set up your own affiliate marketing business
  • Weekly Live Training Class with their Chief Trainer, Jay
  • And many many more...

What's more exciting is that you are not restricted to promoting WA membership. Instead, you can build your website in any niche you like and make money from it.

Their main training is called the Online Entrepreneur Certification (OEC) course. It's main focus is to help beginners set up their own website in any niche, preferably their hobby. After that, it teaches them how to create content, get targeted traffic and make sales.

online entrepreneur certification course

Online Entrepreneur Certification (OEC) Course

This can be about literally any niche. You can build a website about swimming, travelling, your cat, your bird, anything...

So, this shows that Wealthy Affiliate is NOT just about promoting its membership because members have a choice of what business/niche they want to go into.

It's definitely not like a pyramid scheme where you can only promote the system to others.

(Anyway, if you're interested to find out more about what you'll be getting at Wealthy Affiliate, check out my detailed WA review post!)

3. Which Company doesn't have an Affiliate Program?

Now, we've made it clear that WA is neither a MLM nor a pyramid scheme. It's purely an affiliate marketing business. 

My last question for you is which company/program doesn't have an affiliate program?

Definitely, there are companies without an affiliate program or have a poor affiliate program. That's why they are suffering today in this digital world.

For example, Toys "R" Us didn't manage its affiliate programs properly and it's now going bankrupt.

toys r us logo

Almost all successful websites/companies/programs have an affiliate program to grow their business. Wealthy Affiliate is no different.

I have apologized for those innocent newbie WA members. So, is there any more reasons to criticize WA's affiliate program now?

If there is, let me know in the comments below and I'll look into it. I promise!

The State of Digital Marketing (Latest Update!)

I'm sure you can agree with me that there are too many scams out there trying to make money unethically, be it online survey scams, pyramid schemes in disguise, etc...

That's why I feel WA members are doing a justice for the society to expose these scams and save some innocent people's hard earned money.

Just recently, a very popular system called Digital Altitude (DA) has been shut down by the FTC because they are being identified as a pyramid scheme scam!

digital altitude scam alert

In fact, way before that, I've already written a review on Digital Altitude and claimed that it is a pyramid scheme. Everyone should stay away from it.

However, if you were a member of DA or a critic of Wealthy Affiliate, you would see me as another WA scammer trying to call other programs a scam while promoting WA.

Now, FTC has already proven that DA is a scam and I'm right.

I can confidently say that all my reviews on this website are my honest opinions. My goal is to write unbiased reviews and help people make the best possible decisions for themselves.

Update: Another very popular program called My Own Business Education (MOBE) has also been shut down by FTC just like what had happened to Digital Altitude.

These case studies from MOBE & Digital Altitude can really tell us a lot about the state of the industry so far.

I hope you can trust me and agree with me by now šŸ™‚

(Definitely, if I made any mistakes for any of my review, I'm willing to apologize and update my reviews so that they are as accurate as possible. Simply drop me a comment below any of my reviews if you find any mistakes. Feel free to let me know what you think as well.)

Conclusion: Is Wealthy Affiliate Legit?

Wealthy Affiliate is definitely 100% legit. The question is whether you want to look at it with a pair of filtered sunglasses or not. 

lady wearing sunglasses

Once again, I apologize for those innocent newbie WA members who are not honest in their reviews. But from my personal experience, majority of the WA members are completely honest and unbiased in their reviews.

We can confidently say Wealthy Affiliate is the best platform while comparing it to many other programs because it really is the best!

Instead of criticizing WA, why not give it a try?

You can test-drive the system for FREE and see it for yourself if I'm being 100% authentic here šŸ™‚

Jerry Huang
 

Jerry is a young aspiring Internet Entrepreneur who started his online business at the age of 18. He is currently a Full-time Affiliate Marketer at Wealthy Affiliate, a community to help anyone start their own online business without prior experience. He actually achieved Financial Independence at the young age of 21. Read more about his story here!

Click Here to Leave a Comment Below 22 comments
Spencer Tufnell - June 22, 2018

Well at least you own up to it (the reason for all the WA scam reviews). Honestly I think it gives WA a bad rep, as in my mind if all I see from WA member’s reviews is bashing of everything else out there then clearly the reviews are not legit. But I do commend you for stepping forward and admitting there is a problem.

Reply
    Jerry Huang - June 22, 2018

    Ermm… That’s not exactly what I was saying in the post. I’m not admitting there’s a problem with Wealthy Affiliate. It’s a problem with some of the newbie members.

    For majority of the WA members reviews online, I would say they are legit. Once again, the impression of WA members bashing other products is not true.

    Reply
Laura - February 17, 2018

Hi Jerry,

Definitely see a lot of merit in Wealthy Affiliate and I think you have done well demonstrating the value. Well done! I know first-hand how good the training is. The tools are also great.

I think with anything you will get out what you put in and that is why people claim a product as not working when they are not working it like a business.

Would you agree and what would you say are the top 3 keys to success in Wealthy Affiliate?

Laura

Reply
    Jerry Huang - February 17, 2018

    Hi Laura,

    That’s really well said! You’ll get the rewards you deserve if you treat your online business as a real business.

    As for the keys to success in Wealthy Affiliate, I would say it’s COMMITMENT, CONSISTENCY & PATIENCE!

    Firstly, if you truly want to succeed at WA, you need to treat it as a real business and not just something to “try it out” to see if it works. Wealthy Affiliate works. It’s just whether you believe in it and are committed to it. So the first step to success at WA is definitely to commit yourself into this community and this business opportunity.

    Secondly, in order to succeed in anything, you need to put in consistent hard work and effort. This is the same at WA. WA is not a get rich quick scheme so consistent effort is necessary. Have a well-planned schedule and balance between “learning” and “applying”. Some people tend to learn a lot but seldom take any actions on their own business.

    Lastly, like I’ve said, WA is not a get rich quick scheme. Without patience, you’re not going to achieve the results you want. You will definitely not be seeing any results in the first few months. But if you’re willing to push through the difficult times, you’re going to get the things others can’t.

    I really appreciate your time for checking out my post and leaving such an interesting comment. I would like to end this with a quote:

    “If you’re willing to do what other people are not doing, you’re going to get the results that other people can only dream of.”

    Reply
Key - February 16, 2018

Awesome review! I’m a professional eCommerce manager and WA member myself. 

I think it’s worth mentioning that WA is NOT just for the Make Money Online niche! I’ve launched a successful home decoration site on WA. I choose to host my site through WA because the tools and support they offer adds value to ANY niche you want to pursue. 

Anytime a friend of mine wants to get started with a website, I always recommend WA despite whatever industry they’re targeting. Reason being? The keyword tool and traffic tools are lifelines for any online business. Those 2 tools alone are worth the monthly price. Any online business needs targeted keywords and traffic if they want to attract organic, hyper-targeted leads. 

Set yourself up for success with WA, if you don’t, you’re doing yourself a disservice.

Reply
    Jerry Huang - February 16, 2018

    Hi Key,

    Thanks for sharing your own WA experience. I definitely agree with you. One thing that I’m really grateful for WA is that they are offering so many valuable stuffs at such a low price. The quality website hosting and keyword research tool alone worth more than the monthly WA fee!

    Reply
Stefan Vogt - February 16, 2018

Hi Jerry, I totally agree with you.
If happy members are not allowed to highlight the program they are happy with and proud of working with then I don’t know why.

Every company, online or not tells their employees or members to promote the same company they work with and no one feels upset.

The only difference here at WA is, that WA is also rewarding the recommendations too. If other programs do not use this possibility to gain fame and growth, then this is totally up to them but I would definitely do it.

Ok, here at WA it is a bit powerful because the writing of a WA review is one of the first tasks every student must fulfill. Many “newbies” as you, Jerry, said, don’t know that much about WA and are not really capable to write a very realistic review.

I saw my first reviews, they were questionable as well. But on the other hand, these first not too qualified reviews are not seen by too many people in the net šŸ™‚

If any affiliate marketing training is not teaching writing reviews, it doesn’t get to the point. Reviews are the way to sell things and this is what we want to learn here.

Reply
    Jerry Huang - February 17, 2018

    Hi Stefan,
    Thanks a ton for your in-depth comment! Really appreciate that šŸ™‚

    WA focuses a lot on content creation as the way to promote and sell affiliate products. I believe that’s why they got so many complaints about bashing other products as scam. But just some actions by a few members doesn’t reflect what WA really is. WA has been in business for over 12 years and it’s still growing. It just shows the power of this platform.

    By the way, I do not agree with you that writing reviews is the only way to sell things online. In fact, there are tons of ways to sell products online and writing reviews is just one of the many ways. But that’s what WA is focusing on in its training.

    Anyway, thank you so much for your time checking out my post and leaving a comment. I wish you great success Stefan!

    Reply
Jordan - February 15, 2018

Hey Jerry, great review! And very thorough.

I appreciate two things especially: the first is that you addressed the one complaint I’ve heard about Wealthy Affiliate.

I’m very suspicious of things online, and even though I’ve started to build a career online, and I do love it, there are definitely a ton of scams out there. In all the research I did on WA, the only complaint I could find is that people were upset that WA affiliates were bashing other companies.

The truth is, that doesn’t directly reflect on Wealthy Affiliate. Those are actions by independent people, who are choosing to slander other companies in their promotions. Wealthy Affiliate doesn’t endorse that. Like you say, pointing out actual scams is actually providing a lot of value to a reader.

Secondly, I’m really glad you articulated the differences between affiliate marketing, MLM, and a pyramid scheme. I’ve been presented with all 3 business models, and I was really confused about them at first. Having a clear explanation is a HUGE help.

Thanks!

Reply
    Jerry Huang - February 16, 2018

    Hey Jordan,

    Thanks for your comment and I’m glad that my post helps!

    I agree with you that a few of the members’ actions do not reflect on the company’s legitimacy. That’s for sure. I believe every program no matter how good it is, will have people abusing it.

    I think the fact that people keep focusing on WA bashing other products is simply because there are no other disadvantage people can talked about for Wealthy Affiliate. LOL!

    Anyway, I’m glad I helped you clarify the difference between affiliate marketing, MLM and pyramid scheme. I wish you all the best for your online career šŸ™‚

    Reply
Norman Richards - February 15, 2018

Awesome review Jerry, I could not have said it better myself. You have done an excellent job in defending this wonderful community. The testimony that comes from this community proves that Wealthy Affiliate’s training is legit. I hope that your viewers will find what you are sharing a great help in deciding to join this wonderful community.

Reply
    Jerry Huang - February 17, 2018

    Hey Norman,
    Thanks for your comment and support! I’m just speaking the truth with 100% authenticity. I believe my readers here can feel that šŸ™‚

    Reply
Ed - February 15, 2018

Jerry,

Excellent article on Wealthy Affiliate Complaint. I’m a WA member as well and can confirm your statements 100%.

I too noticed the complaints against WA, all of them are to do with how other training platforms are being called scams and it upsets me because I know that this is not what WA is all about.

Although I studied both the “Get Started Here” course and “Affiliate Bootcamp” courses, my path was to start a product website with affiliate links to Amazon and to product manufacturers. I felt that I needed to know how affiliate marketing works before advising others to join the program.

Now, I can state with confidence that WA is the best training program out there, without calling anyone else’s platform a scam. However, there are a lot of scams out there that need to be exposed for what they are.

Thanks for this great article and keep up the good work.

Ed

Reply
    Jerry Huang - February 16, 2018

    Hi Ed,

    You’re definitely right. WA members have the freedom to choose what business they want to go into, which product they want to promote and how they want to market it.

    Also, there are indeed tons of scams out there that need to be exposed so that fewer innocent people will be scammed and lost their hard earned money.

    I wish you all the best in your business Ed! Let me know if you need any help. We all know that WA is a truly ‘pay-it-forward’ and helpful community, right? šŸ™‚

    Reply
JohnV - February 15, 2018

I particularly like two of your neat ideas in this review. First, using the word complaint in the title – nice attention grabber. Second, the apology for the behaviour of some newer members. You are right, some seem to think it is necessary cast any perceived competition in a bad light.
What they end up doing is demonstrating their own ignorance, which in turn does not reflect well on WA. Any damage is probably minor and temporary and WA has proved its worth over a good number of years now.

Reply
    Jerry Huang - February 17, 2018

    Hey John,
    You’re right! Just actions from a few WA members cannot reflect what WA really is. Wealthy Affiliate has been around for more than 12 years. I’m sure time has proven it. And those who are criticizing WA are just a minority. I’ve even seen one successful internet marketer who used to criticize WA a lot, but after he gave WA a try, he actually loves WA. That’s really interesting, haha!

    Reply
Deborah - February 15, 2018

Hi,
I absolutely love this website. It’s informative, clean cut and very easy to use. I have also downloaded your Blueprint.
I am an affiliate marketer and there is so much I could learn from you.
I shall be following you too. Looking forward to more of your posts.
Regards Deborah. šŸ™‚

Reply
    Jerry Huang - February 17, 2018

    Hi Deborah,
    Nice to meet you and thanks for your kind words. Glad that you like what I’m doing. Wish you great success šŸ™‚

    Reply
Simon - February 15, 2018

Hey Jerry,
Wealthy Affiliate is split up into two categories. You can either choose to promote their affiliate program or choose an interest you are particularly passionate about and earn revenue by promoting affiliate products within your niche.

I chose the latter to which they teach inexperienced bloggers like myself on how to build a website, write helpful informative posts and attract visitors to accomplish conversions and sales.

My only initial complaint was when I first walked through their doors. It all seemed a bit overwhelming but you soon slip into their helpful and supportive environment.

As far as marketing the Wealthy Affiliate business goes, it’s easy because you’re promoting a genuine business against the web’s scams to which 99% of the internet is littered with.

All the best,
Simon.

Reply
    Jerry Huang - February 17, 2018

    Hey Simon,
    Thanks for your wonderful input!

    Indeed, Wealthy Affiliate members have their own freedom to choose whatever business they want to go into. Unlike some MLM or pyramid schemes force its members to only promote their own products.

    I agree with you that WA can be a bit overwhelming at the start for beginners but the good thing about WA is their supportive and helpful environment. Kyle & Carson, the founders of WA, will never leave anyone behind. It’s really easy to get help inside WA, unlike some other platforms or forums that have very little activity going on.

    Once again, thanks a ton for your comment and I wish you an awesome year ahead šŸ™‚

    Reply
AweSamurai - February 15, 2018

I really love your posts. First of all, it’s because you use a lot of imagery and the second bit is that your posts are honest.
I happen to be a newbie at Wealthy Affiliate and I think I can back all your claims about Wealthy Affiliate being a legit affiliate program.
I hope in the future I can gain your prowess in running a successful website.

Reply
    Jerry Huang - February 15, 2018

    Thank you so much for your comment and your kind words. You’ll be good at running your own successful website in just a couple of months time if you stick to the training inside Wealthy Affiliate. I wish you all the best. You can do it!

    Let me know if you need any help. I’ll be more than happy to help you out šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply: