DesignEvo Review: Best Online Logo Maker (100% FREE)
10

DesignEvo Review: Best Online Logo Maker (100% FREE)

Updates on 14 April 2018: DesignEvo is not 100% free anymore, simply because they have upgraded their service and they're now offering a lot more features as compared to the time when I first wrote this review.

Thanks to Zella from DesignEvo, I had the chance of testing out all the features for their paid service. And I'm going share that with you in this updated DesignEvo review 🙂


Welcome to my DesignEvo review!

Saw the featured image above? It's a logo I created using DesignEvo for FREE in less than 5 minutes. Pretty awesome, right?

Having a right logo is very important for both individuals and companies/organizations because it plays a crucial role in branding.

However, hiring a designer to create a custom logo for you can be very costly. It can cost up to a few hundred bucks. That is definitely not an option for small business owners or individuals with little budget.

This is where DesignEvo comes in handy.

In this DesignEvo review, let me walk you through how it works and how you can be a designer yourself even if you know nothing about arts or design.

DesignEvo Review Summary

Product Name: DesignEvo

Product Type: Web-based Logo Maker (Now supports desktop software and mobile App)

Founder: Founded by PearlMountain in 2006

Price: 100% Free FREE, $19.99 & $39.99

Best For: Independent Professionals, Small Business Owners, Small Startups, Internet Marketers/Entrepreneurs, Beginners

designevo logo

DesignEvo Logo

Summary: DesignEvo is a really easy-to-use online logo maker that enables ordinary people to create professional and fashionable logos at absolutely no cost with a very little budget.

Rating: 99/100

Recommended: Yes

More...

What is DesignEvo?

designevo homepage

DesignEvo is a web-based online logo maker. It is a graphic design tool specialized in making professional logos for anyone regardless whether you know how to design or not.

It is a very simple 'drag and drop' tool which enables anyone to become a "logo designer" for FREE.

You can design logos for many purposes which include:

  • Company & Organization Logo
  • Website & Blog Logo
  • Social Media Profile Logo
  • Software & App Logo
  • Brand Logo
  • Business Logo
4 figure monthly passive income
Jerry Huang, Founder of Smart Affiliate Success

I'm Jerry!

I Created My Own 4-Figure Monthly Passive Income at just 21 Years Old!

How to Create a Logo with DesignEvo?

To create a professional logo with DesignEvo, all you need to do is to follow the following 6 simple steps:

Step 1: Choose a Template

designevo logo templates

Choose a Template to Find Logo Ideas

Don't worry if you don't know how to start designing your logo.

There are 3000+ 4000+ professional logo templates arranged into 17 categories for you to choose from. They can give you a lot of great ideas.

Step 2: Add Icon, Text & Shape

designevo customize logo

The next step is to add in the logo title, subtitle and the icon you want. There are millions of professionally designed icons for you to choose from. You can add in multiple icons according to your preference. In addition, there are 100+ fonts for you to use.

Step 3: Customize Your Logo

Despite people may choose the same logo template as you, the entire logo is fully customizable in terms its color, font, gradient, size, curve, background and layer.

So, you don't need to worry that your logo will be the same as others.

You just need a little bit to creativity. And you'll get better at it after some time 🙂

Step 4: Preview Logo

designevo logo preview

Preview Your Professionally Designed Logo before Downloading

After customizing your logo to your preference, it's time to preview your logo on different objects.

You can preview how your logo looks like on business card, letter, website, T-shirt, etc...

I really love this feature that you can have a feel of how your logo will look like on different things.

Step 5: Share DesignEvo

designevo credit

To use this logo for free, you must give credit by sharing DesignEvo on your social media, blog or website.

Update 14 April 2018: This step is only required if you are downloading the Logo for FREE. For the paid versions, you don't have to share it on your social media. (I'll talk about the pricing option in just a moment!)

Since DesignEvo is completely Free to use, it only makes sense if you give credit to it by sharing it on your social media or website.

It is "compulsory" for you to do so according to DesignEvo. However, you can still download your logo even if you don't share it.

So, basically it's kind of like a honorary system. I'll share it with my friends as I've benefited from it for FREE.

Step 6: Download Your Logo

designevo logo download

The last step is just to download the logo onto your computer. There are 3 file formats available in the zip. file, namely JPG, PNG and transparent PNG.

(Update: PNG with transparent background is now only available if you pay. If you want to download your logo for free, the only option is PNG with background.)

After you've downloaded the logo, they'll offer you to create a custom business card for you.

designevo customer business card

You're able to print your logo on a business card

This is kind of like an upsell. It's totally up to you if you need the custom business card.

If you want to give it a shot, you'll be led to another page called FotoJet, which is another software service from the company.

From there, you'll choose the templates for your business card so on and so forth.


Here's a quick video that shows you everything:

Alternatively, you can check out their getting started tutorial for more information.

DesignEvo Pricing Options (UPDATE!)

This is an updated section on 14 April 2018. Like I've mentioned earlier, DesignEvo is no longer 100% Free. So let me explain to you their pricing options...

designevo pricing options

DesignEvo Pricing Options

The above screenshot is the page you'll see when you want to download your logo.

Free Logos

You can download your logo for free but the logo will be in low resolution file, meaning that it may be a bit blur if you enlarge it.

Also, the only available file is PNG with background. This means that it's impossible to use this logo on your website. Normally, what you need is a PNG with transparent background logo.

So the downside of this DesignEvo upgrade is that you can no longer download a high resolution logo for immediate use. The Free Logo is just like a trial. It's impossible for you to use it anywhere, be it on your business card, T-shirt, paper documents, etc.

Paid Logos

If you're serious about making your own logo, this is when you need the paid versions, either Basic of Plus.

With paid logos, you can download your logos in high resolution in PNG with transparent background.

You're able to edit and re-download it afterwards. You'll also get a life-time support, plus your logo is print-ready.

What's the difference between Basic & Plus package?

The difference for Plus package is that you can download your logos in Vector PDF and SVG files. Also, you have the right to register a trademark.

What this means is that you're able to scale your logos without compromising the quality of the logo.

Let me show you the difference:

designeveo premium files comparison

Basic VS Plus

Like I've said earlier on, I have access to all the DesignEvo premium features, so these are the files available in Basic and Plus packages.

As you can see, for Basic package, you'll only get high resolution and original logos.

Whilst for Plus package, you'll be getting two more files - font and vector.

If you're using your logo for your website and for normal usage, Basic Package is enough. You don't need to have the font and vector files.

But if you're creating this logo for your company which requires you to create many different versions of the same logo, you'll need the font and vector files.

NOTE: These Basic and Plus packages are all one-time fee for ONE logo. If you want to create another logo with a completely different design, you'll have to purchase again.

One trick to get away with this is to go back to the same logo which you've purchased and edit it to another logo. Then download again. Because you can re-download the same logo once you've purchased it.

designevo review

This is how it looks like in your logo gallery. For example, I've purchased the Plus package for one of the logos and it'll be shown as "Plus".

For the one I didn't pay, there will be an "upgrade" button for you to purchase higher packages.

So the trick is to go back to the same logo you've purchased and change it to another logo you want to design.

The downside is obviously you'll lose the first logo.

(Shh... Don't tell anyone about this trick!)

DesignEvo Features Update!

DesignEvo is no longer a solely "web-based" logo maker. It has now developed their own desktop software and mobile App.

If you search for "DesignEvo" in Google Play Store or iOS App Store, you can find their mobile logo maker there.

designevo mobile app

It's free to download but similarly, when you want to download your finalized logo design, there are different pricing options for you to choose from based on your needs.

As for the desktop version, it's only available in Mac and they're currently working on the Windows version.

designevo desktop version

Pros & Cons

The Good

designevo benefits

DesignEvo features: Now with 4000+ Logo templates!

1. Super Easy-to-Use (WYSIWYG)

DesignEvo is such an extremely easy-to-use tool that even a 5 year-old kid can create a professional logo.

The user-friendly 'drag & drop' interface emphasize on "What You See Is What You Get" (WYSIWYG).

There's no fancy designs and functions to make things complicated. That's why it's so simple and suitable for anyone.

2. No Registration or Downloading of Software Required

DesignEvo is a web-based tool which doesn't require any downloading of software.

This is very similar to Canva, a powerful web-based design software. You don't need to occupy your computer's storage space for a bulky software.

What's even more unique is that it doesn't even need to register to build your own logo. This is quite different from the common tools nowadays.

So, it's really easy to get started. You can simply start designing your logo in one click.

3. Completely FREE to Use

There's no membership fees and no upsells whatsoever. 100% FREE no matter how many logos you create.

4. Supports Both Windows & Mac

It is compatible with both Windows & Mac. This requires no further explanation.

Update: The web-based tool definitely supports both Windows & Mac. But like I've explained earlier on, they now have desktop version which is only available in Mac at the moment.

5. Able to Preview Your Professional Logo

The preview feature is not only unique but also useful. Being able to preview your logo on different objects allows you to have a good gauge on whether the logo is really good.

6. Your Downloaded Logos are in Print-Ready Files

If you want to print your logo on your business card or any other objects, the files are ready to be printed. (The 3 file formats included are JPG, PNG and transparant PNG)

Use can also leverage their card printing service from FotoJet.


The Bad

1. Unable to Upload Your Own Icons, Images & Fonts

There's no option for you to upload your own icons, images and fonts. So you can only use the resources in their database.

Nevertheless, the good thing is that they already have a huge database with a wide range of collections.

You don't really need to upload your own.

2. Unable to Save Your Design

You cannot save your logo design for future usage nor to edit it later. If you close the tab, you'll have to re-design it again. Similarly, you can't access the logos you've designed in the past.

So, what you can do is to design the logo and download it on the spot. The good thing is that you can design a good logo in a couple of minutes.

This issue has been fixed. You can now save your logos and access them in the future. But you need to register and log in for this.

3. DesignEvo Account is Useless

DesignEvo emphasizes on no registration is needed. However, there's a "Sign Up" button at the top right corner in their homepage.

So, I tried signing up to see if there's any added benefits, like the ability to save your designs. However, the account is totally useless. You can't do anything with it.

So, I would recommend you to just build your logo on the spot without signing up.

Once again, this issue has been fixed with their pricing options. Please refer to the above pricing options for more information 🙂

Conclusion

DesignEvo is a really awesome tool that is suitable to anyone to use. Next time when you need a logo for whatever purpose, try DesignEvo first before reaching out to hire designers.

It can potentially save you hundreds of dollars.

Ready to Design Your Own Professional Logo?


Jerry Huang
 

Jerry is a young aspiring Internet Entrepreneur who started his online business at the age of 18. He is currently an active Affiliate Marketer at Wealthy Affiliate, a community to help anyone start their own online business without prior experience. He is experienced in Affiliate Marketing, Search Engine Optimization (SEO), Content Marketing, Social Media Marketing & Email Marketing. Read more about him at his profile here.

Click Here to Leave a Comment Below 10 comments
Aditya vikram - July 4, 2018

Hey Jerry,

This is a detail and brief review of DesignEvo, Thanks a lot.
I’m really glad I found your blog.
Add me in your regular readers now.

Regards
Aditya

Reply
    Jerry Huang - July 4, 2018

    Thank you Aditya, I’m glad you like my review here 🙂

    Reply
common curiosities - January 3, 2018

Very Cool!
Thanks for the info and walk through. I have been looking for something like this and will have to go check it out. Sounds much easier than fiddling with the more general open source graphic design options that I have previously come across!

Reply
    Jerry Huang - January 3, 2018

    Yes, it’s so much easier than many other graphic design options out there. Go try it out yourself 🙂

    Reply
Norman Richards - January 1, 2018

Hello, my friend, this is just what I need. I have tried before and do think about creating my logo which I really need. The information that you have given here will do a whole lot of good for me and the many others who also have a desire to create logos for their website.

Reply
    Jerry Huang - January 1, 2018

    Hey Norman,
    I’m really glad that this is helpful to you. All the best in creating your logo 🙂

    Reply
Merry - January 1, 2018

Jerry, thank you so much for this article. I have been trying a few different logo making sites and nothing has really stood out for me. I love what you created, very clever, and I am off to see what I can do. Without a creative bone in my body, I need this kind of help!

Reply
    Jerry Huang - January 1, 2018

    Hi Merry,
    Everyone has different levels of creativity. That’s why DesignEvo exists to enable anyone to have the same ability to create professional logos. I really love their templates and how it can help people like you and me!

    Reply
Anthony Hu - January 1, 2018

Hi Jerry,
It is a timely article for me. I just started my website: rebrandsmoking.com and it has no logo yet. I have always been thinking about making a logo for the site, but I don’t know where to start. Now you introduce DesignEvo here and it is 100% FREE. I’ve bookmarked your site and will start working on my logo right after finishing this message. Thanks for sharing.

Reply
    Jerry Huang - January 1, 2018

    Hi Anthony,
    Glad that my timely article helps. Thanks for bookmarking my site and I wish you all the best for your new website 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply: